Chicken Broccoli Divan

This is a very simple recipe, but it’s one of those hearty, comfort food dishes that doesn’t make me feel gluttonous – and for that, I love it.  The recipe comes from Campbell’s.

So let me say this: one of the things that interests me is finding ways to make healthy, hearty, delicious recipes.  Meaning…I don’t want a recipe for French toast with cream cheese filling, and fruit compote, and syrup, and candied walnuts, and sprinkles, and whipped cream – you get what I mean?  I want to take the foods we all know and love, but find ways to make them – at a minimum – not so terrible.

So, there are very few ingredients in this recipe: just chicken, broccoli, cream of chicken soup, milk, cheddar cheese, bread crumbs, and butter.  Simple!  But there’s lots of room for you to play around with it – if you’re vegetarian, you probably could substitute cream of mushroom soup and tofu for the cream of chicken and chicken; or maybe you could use a different kind of milk, or no butter.  Or, you could make the recipe exactly like this, but strike the chicken and double up on broccoli, or substitute some cauliflower in.  See what I mean?  So many options!

I didn’t do any intentional substituting with this recipe, but I realized at the last minute that I didn’t have any milk, and I just kept powering forward anyway.  LOL that’s so me – you’ll see…It turned out just fine.  Should’ve used the milk, but no one was harmed today 🙂

So tell me – what’s your favorite healthy, comfort recipe?

Tell me how you feel about this!